Friday, 4 November 2011

History of Ile de France Region

The Ile-de-France is a former French province, disappeared during the Revolution, and a French region that includes eight departments: Essonne, Hauts-de-Seine, Paris, Seine-Saint-Denis, Seine-et-Marne, Val -de-Marne, Val d'Oise, Yvelines we tend sometimes wrongly confused with the city of Paris, which does not extend, however, that over 20% of its surface, but still represents 90% of its population . Since 1990 the French Academy accepts the spelling Ile de France as well as he-de-France, without the circumflex on the i

The Ile-de-France was born of the royal domain formed from the tenth century by the Capetian kings.
His name may appear rather mysterious, the "island" of France is located in the ground. It seems that the name refers to the strip of land bounded by the Oise, the Marne and the Seine. Another explanation sees "Ile de France" impaired "Liddle Franke," that is to say, "Petite France" Frankish language. This region is indeed the land of rooting the French people, of Germanic origin, after their penetration into Gaul, during the great invasions.

Its boundaries have varied through the end of the Ancien Regime. This province extended to the west and especially the north and was less extensive than today towards the east and south. It formed the area of ​​economic interests of corporations merchant of Paris, who helped fix the contours.

In the seventeenth century, a significant number of people came to settle in New France (Quebec), especially the famous King's daughters.

It was cut as a result of the Revolution, five departments: Seine (Paris), Seine-et-Oise, Seine-et-Marne, Oise and Aisne. The region was restored after 1945 from the first three and administrative decentralization in 1964, and policy in 1982 consolidated the former provinces.

In 1965, under the vigorous action of Paul Delouvrier at the head of the district in the Paris region, the number of departments was increased from three to eight, including Paris. One of them, that of Seine-et-Marne, occupies almost half of the surface region. Around Paris, Hauts-de-Seine, Seine-Saint-Denis and Val-de-Marne form the suburbs. Departments of the Val d'Oise, Yvelines, Essonne and the Seine-et-Marne is the outer suburbs. The purpose of this administrative reform was highly political: it was to dismantle the Department of the Seine, the Prefect had almost as much power as Prime Minister. This competition at the head of the capital region was considered negative by De Gaulle and Michel Debré, Prime Minister of the time to undertake the development of the Paris region ("restore order"). In 1965, the team realizes the Delouvrier master plan and urban area of Paris (SDAURP), an ambitious spatial planning document, which profoundly reshaping the face and the functioning of the capital region: establishment of a Regional Express Network (RER) and creation of new towns (Evry, Marne-la-Vallée, Cergy-Pontoise, Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines and Melun-Senart).

The District of the Paris region has become the Ile-de-France in 1976.

History of Ile de France Region:

Let tell you about the cities and countries of Art and History, by thepath of cultural tourism (guided tours, visits discoveries, Expos, Animations, etc...)

No comments: